MWAA Police Chief Departs for TSA

Published: June 29, 2017

Accepts New Security Position at Charlotte International Airport


Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority Police Chief Scott C. Booth has resigned, effective in mid-July, to accept a position with the Transportation Security Administration, the Airports Authority announced Thursday. During a nationwide search for a successor, Vice President for Public Safety Bryan Norwood will serve as acting chief of police.

Norwood, who oversees the Airports Authority’s police, fire and emergency medical response functions, praised Booth for his “dedication to customer service, professionalism and teamwork in serving the traveling public at Reagan National Airport, Dulles International Airport and the Dulles Toll Road. We congratulate him on this new phase of his career with the TSA.”

Booth, who joined the Airports Authority Police Department in August 2015 and was promoted to chief in January 2016, will join TSA as deputy federal security director at Charlotte Douglas International Airport in North Carolina. Prior to working at the Airports Authority, he served for 19 years in the Richmond, Va., Police Department and as a military police officer with the U.S. Army.

Airports Authority Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer Margaret McKeough expressed “thanks to Chief Booth for his service and contributions to maintaining a safe and secure environment at our airports and on the Dulles Toll Road.  We wish him all the best.”

The Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority operates Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, Washington Dulles International Airport, the Dulles Airport Access Highway and the Dulles Toll Road and also manages construction of the Silver Line project, a 23-mile extension of the Washington region’s Metrorail public transit system through Fairfax County and into Loudoun County, Virginia. More than 45 million passengers a year pass through the two airports. The Airports Authority generates more than 387,000 jobs in the National Capital Region.